But what should I say?

“You say what you want to say when you don’t care who’s listening” – Allen Ginsberg

Profound words?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  Definitely liberating for a new blogger like me!

For months I poured over my blog; writing and re-writing, tweaking my thoughts.  Trying to get everything perfect for my debut post. I have no idea how to blog.  I mean, I know what I want to say, generally, but what if it doesn’t come across in a catchy, bloggy kind of way? And who’s gonna listen to what I have to say, anyway?

As I wrestle with these thoughts, in the back of my mind I hear a voice from my grandmother’s generation yelling “shit or get off the pot!”  So I squeeze out my debut post, and its, well, an introduction.  I breathe a little easier, having conquered that demon and at least gotten started.  Not too much easier, though, because I still don’t know what I’m supposed to do.

So I troll around the web, checking out other blogs, trying to get a feel for this thing; and buried somewhere among the multitude of words, is Allen Ginsberg’s statement.  When I first read it, I pause.  It’s simple, yet wise.  I read it again, letting its meaning sink in, and suddenly the shackles that had me bound in my own private dungeon of despair fall away like glass from a shattered window.  The doors to my creativity are opened and I am set free!

I can write the things I want to say the same way I would say them to a friend or client looking for guidance.  The concepts may not be new, (its relationship advice, for Pete’s sake!), but I can put a new spin on and old theme.  Relationships, after all, are gonna be around for a long time; and where there’s relationships, there’s questions.  Where there’s questions, there’s answers.

As for who will listen – well, the same people that have found value in what I’ve shared with them thus far.  And if things go right, I’ll pick up some new followers along the way.

So now I sit at my desk, poised and ready to go.  No longer consumed by doubt; instead bolstered by clarity.  Ready to let my thoughts flow like a river of empathetic wisdom.

“If you build it they will come” someone once said; and so I begin laying the foundation…

Thank you for taking a glimpse of the world through my eyes.  Enjoy the scenery!!

About Ketima Whitehall

Ketima Whitehall is the nom de plume of accountant and CTA Certified Life Coach Robin D. Aiken, a Silver Spring, Maryland native and Morgan State University alumna. In April, 2014 Ketima published her first fictional novel, Smoke and Mirrors - The Secret Life of a Cheater, which was loosely based on her personal experience with infidelity. After turning her relationship around, Ketima made it her goal to help as many people as possible avoid or overcome infidelity and find fulfillment in their romantic love relationships.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment